Festival of Tibet Rotating Header Image

FOT’s Online Program

FESTIVAL OF TIBET Online PROGRAMS
25th April to 4th May 2021 – Live of Festival’s Facebook page

SUNDAY 25th APRIL 6am AEST
Online CONCERT : ON THE WINGS OF MANTRA with Deva Premal & Miten

World renowned Deva Premal & Miten will join the Festival of Tibet 2021 online with a very special early morning meditation and illumination with ‘On the ‘Wings of Mantra’ exquisite sounds, heartfelt songs and mantras for awakening and meditation.

“As we sing we actually begin to clean our inner world. These mantras wash away the cobwebs and the darker corners of our being and bring rejuvenation and transformation.”  – Miten

“Mantras are sound medicine. The medicine works for all of us, no matter what culture we’re from, we all disappear into the chant – whether we’re in London, Moscow, Miami, Tel Aviv, or Rishikesh – it always feels like this.”  – Deva Premal

24th April 2021 – 1pm San Francisco 2pm Costa Rica 3pm Mexico City 4pm Miami / New York 5pm Rio de Janeiro/Buenos Aires 9pm London/Dublin/Lisbon 10pm Munich/Paris/Madrid 10pm Cape Town 11pm Moscow
25th April 2021 – 1.30am New Delhi/Mumbai 6am Brisbane  6am Sydney
Donation link https://chuffed.org/project/festivaloftibet2021

MONDAY 26th APRIL 7pm AEST

POETS: THE POETS SPEAK FROM THEIR CAVES
Hosted by Bhuchung D. Sonam, acclaimed Tibetan poet and publisher, from his small refuge in the mountains of Dharamsala, northern India, this event will present works by some of today’s most prolific and inspirational Tibetan poets. Readings by artists in Tibetan communities around the globe will tell the larger narrative, based on personal experiences of exile and dislocation, and offer common ground to help understand the story of Tibet. Join us for an enchanting evening of wisdom, humour and inspiration.

TUESDAY 27th APRIL 7pm AEST
FILM: PILGRIMAGE INTO TIBET –
Directed by Mark Gould
To acknowledge the 60 year freedom struggle of the Tibetan people and their leader, His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama, eight intrepid pilgrims trek into occupied Tibet, to circle Mount Kailash, Asia’s most sacred Mountain. Confronting altitude, officialdom and their own physical limits, their journey reveals seldom seen experiences of todays’ Nepal and Tibet.

Bondi Film-Maker Mark Gould and Sonam Ongmu Denzongpa, from Queensland’s Gold Coast lead a group on an epic pilgrimage through remote Nepal into Tibet and around sacred Mount Kailash in summer 2019.

Music:-  Tenzin Choegyal,  Ani Choying Drolma, Toshi Tscuhitori
Writer Director:-  Mark Gould
Producers:-  Mark Gould and Freeman Trebilcock

WEDNESDAY 28th APRIL 7pm AEST
TALK – TIBETAN MEDICINE FOR TROUBLED TIMES with Dr Sal Battaglia and Dr Tsering Thankchoe
Founder and managing director of Perfect Potion Dr. Sal Battaglia and highly respected Tibetan medical doctor Tsering Thankchoe will explore shared perspectives for general health and wellbeing. This session will reflect on the valuable insights offered by Tibetan medicine into the causes and conditions that give rise to pandemics, as well as intersectional guidance for navigating these difficult times through diet, behaviour and traditional therapies.

THURSDAY 29th APRIL 7pm AEST
TALK: HARD TALK WITH TENZIN TSUNDUE
Tenzin Tsundue is the ‘poet laureate’ of the Tibetan exile community in India. One of the most uncompromising activists in the Tibetan exile community, Tenzin wears his red headband daily to remind us of the Tibetan struggle. A writer with an MA in English Literature from Mumbai University, Tenzin lives by his writing, frequently touring India and abroad to read his

poems and stories to raise awareness of the Tibetan issue. Tenzin lives in lower Dharamshala where his house is a small ashram – an intellectual hub for young Tibetans. In a fascinating conversation, Tenzin talks to the subjects that preoccupy Tibetans today.

FRIDAY 30th APRIL 7pm AEST
FILM : Women of Tibet – A Quiet Revolution

Directed by Rosemary Rawcliffe

In this EMMY® winning film, three generations of Tibetan women and His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama tell the story of one of the great movements of nonviolent resistance in modern history and the rebuilding of their culture in exile. A Quiet Revolution begins on March 12, 1959 when 15,000 unarmed Tibetan women took to the streets of Lhasa to oppose the violent occupation of their country by the Communist Chinese army.

From the streets of Lhasa to their principal refuge in Dharamsala, India, the stories that live at the heart of this film offer an intimate and direct experience of what it is to lose everything and begin anew. ©2020 Frame of Mind Films

SATURDAY 1st MAY 7pm AEST
FILM : Women of Tibet – Gyalyum Chemo The Great Mother
Directed by Rosemary Rawcliffe

Women of Tibet: Gyalyum Chemo – The Great Mother recounts the compelling story of Dekyi Tsering, the mother of His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama. Dekyi Tsering, known by Tibetans as ‘Gyalyum Chemo’ or ‘Great Mother,’ gave birth to 16 children, three of whom were recognized as incarnate lamas. Weaving anecdotal threads and personal reflections from her children, grandchildren, and friends, with never before seen photographs from their family collections and rare footage of Tibet, the film offers an intimate glimpse into Tibet’s first family and the woman who inspired them. His Holiness talks about how his mother helped shape the man he is today and the relationship between healthy family and healthy humanity, and how it all begins with a mothers love. Dr. Marion Woodman (Addiction to Perfection), Alice Walker (The Color Purple), and Angeles Arrien (The Second Half of Life) link this uniquely Tibetan story to a much broader perspective of motherhood and how the Great Mother lives within each of us. ©2020 Frame of Mind Films

SUNDAY  2nd MAY 7pm AEST
FILM: BRINGING TIBET HOME
Directed by Tenzin Tsetan Choklay
Driven by an inability to fulfil his father’s dying wish to set foot on his native soil, New York-based Tibetan artist and poet Tenzing Rigdol risks incarceration as he smuggles 20,000 kg of Tibetan soil across the Himalayas in a daring 17-month journey, to create a profoundly moving installation in the Tibetan refugee town of Dharamsala, India. His ambitious project was documented throughout resulting in this moving account “Bringing Tibet Home”.

MONDAY 3rd MAY 7pm AEST
TALK : In Conversation with Dr. Vandana Shiva
A compelling chat with India’s great eco-warrior. Vandana Shiva is India’s leading defender of our planet. She is an amazing scholar, an environmental activist, food and seed sovereignty advocate, and an anti-globalization author. Shiva has written more than 20 books. Vandana is one of the board members of the International Forum on Globalization, and a passionate re-educator of Indian farmers. Incredibly articulate about the eco crises facing the planet, she argues that real farming is farming with nature and that herbicides and pesticides are a form of industrial war on nature. Vandana is an inspiring leader, teacher and activist. In conversation with Brisbane journalist ,Paul Manias.

TUESDAY 4th MAY 7pm AEST
FILM – A PILGRIMAGE TO THE KALACHAKRA A sacred Buddhist journey into Ladakh. In remote far north India at 3,500 metres in alpine desert, a colourful assembly 150,000 people from the Buddhist clans all over India and Nepal comes together.

They are there to witness their great teacher, His Holiness, the 14th Dalai Lama of Tibet deliver 12 days of profound Buddhist wisdom and knowledge. As experienced through the eyes of 5 Australian pilgrims.
Music:-  Tenzin Choegyal,  Producer/Director:-  Mark Gould
Followed by
TALK : In Conversation with HH the Dalai Lama about Kalachakra. To gain greater insight into the Kalachakra, the film maker talks with the Dalai Lama.

Donation link https://chuffed.org/project/festivaloftibet2021